"The Pre-School Teacher" BOW!

Express yourself. Convey your thoughts.

Moderators: kampanaryo_spy, cordapya, pato

Alone
Occasional Member
Occasional Member

"The Pre-School Teacher" BOW!

Unread post by Alone »

Some people are just born teachers. These are the people who teach without any formal background, but instinctively know how to pass on knowledge. And there are those who just suck at it. I have been teaching for quite a while. Informally though. Informal because I'm not officially employed as a teacher. I've been a consistently invited lecturer, resource person, speaker and such. I have given seminars and talks and facilitated in other educational endeavors. It's fun. It's doesn't hurt to get paid for it either.

But then, the business of teaching isn't all work. "Teaching is twice learning" is an adage that holds true for me. It seems that i get more out of what I’m teaching than what I’m giving.

The teaching experience can be profound. It is an opportunity to mold minds and challenge preconceptions and misconceptions. It's also a test of patience and character. Teaching martial arts to senior people, teaching martial arts to kids, ( old people and kids have the same attention span & just about the same motor coordination… really ) these are challenges that are more trying to the spirit and person than they are to the body. Teaching teaches you to teach.

Anyone who has ever taught kids will know how insistent, demanding and distracted kids can get, especially four year olds... (yes, I sideline teaching pre-school). Just catching their attention and holding it can be tough. But then again, they are kids... they must never be underestimated, but there is nothing wrong with outsmarting them.